To Amuse Myself

I woke up today ill. After traipsing to the pharmacy to refill my ill-pills (yeah, it’s a recurring sickness) I didn’t feel much like doing anything ambitious. I am considering driving to my parents’ house for dinner, as my boyfriend is out of town and I don’t want to cook. I’m also considering going back to sleep.

I found this gem floating around the blog-o-sphere at I Sheep Things. Why not, I asked myself. I have nothing better to do.

1. Raider, farmer, PvPer, or altoholic?

Somewhere between rabid altoholic and casual raider. I have an entire army of alts that I futz with, and one decked out tree druid to poke ICC with.

2. Favorite raid or dungeon?

I am a huge fan of Egyptian anything. AQ was a lot of fun for me in that regard, but I never got to see the entire thing. I also loved Ulduar. ICC is nice, but Ulduar felt so epic. My first time manning a siege engine is my best memory of the place. It was entirely new to everyone and we got to blow stuff sky high. After Ulduar, nothing feels quite as awesome.

3. Number one choice for a new playable race?

Worgen are pretty high on the list. Naga would be sick too, but they’d be awkwardly pantsless all the time.

4. Class you suck the most at?

I have played all classes into the 70s and there isn’t one I considered “hard” or that I felt I sucked at. That said, I didn’t click very well with my Death Knight. He sits at 80 in the same gear he leveled in. The runic power thing throws me for a loop and I never bothered to really learn his rotation.

5. Original UI or modded UI?

I modded the hell out of my UI in BC. But every time my game started acting up and I had to delete my mods, I would have to set up the entire thing again, and after WoW went haywire on me a few times I just stopped reinstalling my mods. I haven’t used mods at all since. I farted around with Recount a few times just for fun, but as a druid healer there isn’t anything I feel I need. There are plenty of mods I’ve been told I absolutely cannot ever heal without. Screw that.

6. Profession you’ve never leveled past 200?

Blacksmithing and Engineering. I’ve been told both are frustrating and time consuming and eat all your funds. 

7. Favorite flying mount?

When I was a wee undead warlock experiencing Hellfire Peninsula for the first time a bit after BC launched, I saw a level 70 troll astride a netherray floating by the summoning stone for the Hellfire Citadel dungeons. He was on the red riding ray, decked out in some amazing gear, and I thought to myself…self, I have to have one of those rays! I deleted this warlock not long after that, but years later I finally achieved exalted with the Skyguard and now my druid has the entire squadron of rays. He only rides the red one 🙂

8. Nozdormu — friend or foe, you figure?

I really hope he’s a friend. I love the dragons and two defected Aspects is enough for me.

9. Useless item you have in your bank that you’ll never get rid of?

That axe that riffs like a guitar. You know the one? I got it on my hunter in Karazhan a million years ago and never got rid of it. I also have a ton of other useless crap sitting around taking up space, like every one of the holiday hats and the scroll that summons the Hakkar guy in the Sunken Temple.

10. Most expensive thing you’ve ever bought?

Wow. Um. My main has a ton of gold. Well, HAD a ton of gold. Things that may be expensive for some aren’t for me. But I did drop a lot of money on primordial saronite in order to craft a pair of boots, and that cost me about 5 thousand gold in one shot.

11. Favorite starting area?

The night elf starting area always has fond memories for me. It’s serene and pretty and I remember being a wee nublet running around with my friend trying to figure this game out. I remember when I couldn’t survive the spider cave. Good times.

12. Inane goal you worked hardest to achieve?

I have both the Seeker and Loremaster titles. I spent many weeks running around Azeroth moonfiring things left and right and trying not to be discourteous to people leveling in the zones I was laying waste to. I spent a lot of time on WoWhead and WoWwiki pouring over quest lists for zones, pulling my hair out and muttering “But I know I did that one…didn’t I?” Sylvestris is a very old character and I had no clue which quests I had already done. I was pretty proud of myself when I finally achieved both titles, even if the Loremaster’s colors are ugly as hell.

13. Darion Mograine VS Tirion Fordring, gloves off — winner is?

Fordring. The dude one-shots ICC mobs. I mean, why is he sending us in to kill trash when he could do it himself?

14. Game music or your own playlist?

I like to listen to music while playing. Any music. Sometimes I play through iTunes and others I would rather hear the sounds of mobs dying. I usually have the game music turned way down, as it interferes with Vent while raiding. It’s a shame, because the music is very well done in my opinion. Howling Fjord has a beautiful accompaniment.

15. Particular option or setting that you always toggle on a new alt/server?

I have a few keybinds on the bottom right action bar, so I always turn that one on. It helps with things like mounts and fishing that I want to be able to cast without my hands leaving the keys.

16. Highest amount of levels gained in one play session?

I have no idea. Sometimes I level so fast people in guild chat make comments. Sometimes it takes me a week to get one level. Not counting leveling from 1 to 5 or whatever, I think 4 or 5 levels in a day is my highest. This is in the 40-50 range, too. No heirlooms.

17. Thing you’d most like to experience or see in-game?

The Emerald Dream. As an expansion or just a content patch, I think it would be amazing. I play a druid with as much druidy-ness as I can. He’s got the Guardian of Cenarius title, a hippogryph mount…please let me send him to the Dream!

18. Worst PuG moment?

I PUG so much it would be impossible to single out one. You name it, I have seen it happen. Ninjas, check. Idiots, oh yeah. Jerks, quite a few. It never ceases to amaze me how people can be so…ignorant (trying to be polite!) of social etiquette in WoW.

19. Best dungeon/raid moment?

There have been a few. I remember nothing specific. Solo healing Toravon felt good. I know I out gear him. It still felt good. Any time the rest of the healers die in an encounter and I bring the raid home for the kill is a good time. It’s rare. Any time everyone else dies to a boss and I am the only one left alive is also nice. See that fire there? The fire your corpse is roasting in? I didn’t stand in it. Go me!

20. Worst quest ever that you totally hate doing?

EW! Those awful quests in the Blasted Lands where you have to kill a bazillion stupid mobs for their body parts which never drop and which are needed for more than one quest! I don’t do this quest while leveling, obviously, but for Loremaster/Seeker I had to suck it up. It’s AWFUL. Also, any quest that has me run to the other side of the world and then back again and then way across the world again is a butt-sucker in my book. 

21. First thing you do when you hit 80?

Soak in the congratulations and the occasional “Jeez, another 80?” from the guild, then flee to the class trainer nearest me to respec. I don’t have dual spec on most of my alts, and I usually run with a leveling spec. I feel more accomplished when I switch to a more raid/heroic dungeon spec.

22. Character (of yours) you would RP as if you had to?

Sylvestris has his own RP-centric back-story, and has been involved in a few roleplays, though not in WoW. My only experience on an RP server was as a very new player on a low level character, standing in Goldshire with my eyes bugged out of my skull thinking “OMFGWTF is this CRAP?!” So yeah. I never bothered with it again. I roleplay extensively outside of WoW, and sometimes using WoW characters or themes, but I don’t have much interest in roleplay in WoW. I would rather raid or be left alone or chatter inanely to my friends.

23. Keyboard, mouse, or both for using abilities?

Everything. I’d use my toes if I could. I have a key bound to my mouse, my major spells bound to my keyboard…sometimes I am both clicking something with the mouse and keying something else with my fingers. Sometimes I smash my face down on the keyboard with an audible WHUMP and someone gets healed. I have a very eclectic way of using my keybinds that anyone else would likely turn their nose up at. I’ve been using it for so long, it works.

24. Thottbot or WoWhead?

Ugh, Thottbot is still active? I prefer WoWhead. The comments are really the most helpful section of the website, and that’s actually where I found most of my quests for Loremaster/Seeker that I was missing. It’s a goldmine for boss tips and everything else, whereas I have found Thottbot to be more whining and bitching and epeen stroking than helpful. WoWwiki is also one of my search bars on my internet browser. If Wiki doesn’t tell me, I click through to WoWhead.

25. Acronym you’ve seen in chat but don’t understand?

TL;DR. I had to go look it up to find out what it stood for. I see it on Wow.com all the time and could not figure out what it meant.

26. Plot point you’d like to see resolved someday?

I’ll be honest, I’m a lore-tard. I don’t pay enough attention to the lore of the game to really know what’s going on beyond my own characters. I love the lore, really, but I just don’t pay attention to it. I know there are a number of quests lurking about that seem unfinished. I’d like to see these finished.

27. Biggest thing you’re looking forward to in Cataclysm?

WORGEN! Aaaagh werewolves! I would love to see more character slots per realm too, but it’s wishful thinking. I’m also dying to see all the new mounts, pets, titles, and other things an achievement whore like me can get their hands on.

28. Guild event you’d like to see?

We never finished Ulduar. We attempted Yogg a few times and never downed him. I would like to see us finish raids before we bounce off to the newest content, but that’s an unpopular idea with a lot of my guild members. Since we know we can take down Sartharion plus his three drakes, I would like to see us running that weekly. Mounts for everyone!

29. Level range you hate being in?

Just before I can portal to Outland. Those last few levels before 58 always creep by for me. Part of it is the quests at that level don’t awe me and the zones are kind of dull and sluggish. I’m so excited to get to Outland that I can barely focus on killing another undead thing or whatever.

30. Favorite map to quest in?

Nagrand is likely my favorite zone by sheer gorgeousness of the scenery. The quests are decent, and I’m usually close to zipping off to Northrend too. I like Un’Goro just because it seems like you can kill every mob in the zone and fulfill a quest objective. I like going on killing sprees.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on July 10, 2010, in Chatter. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

