Things I Have Learned Playing a Warlock

The warlock class was my first true love in the world of Warcraft. Sure, I piddled around with other classes to begin with, before I had any inkling of what was going on or how to play. I failed at being huntarded, I was dumbfounded by druids, I poked warriors for a little while. But nothing grabbed me quite like the warlock. Curses, fire, explosions, terror…it just meshed with my own desires and off I went, burning the world one zone at a time back in the days of Vanilla WoW.

Unfortunately, after many sordid adventures, I shelved the warlock. My best friend in the real world played an Alliance druid, and while I swore fealty to the almighty Horde I could not shake the desire to play with her. So goodbye, warlock friend, and hello old and neglected night elf druid. Who is now my main. Heh.

I eventually deleted my old cast of Horde characters, level 63 warlock included, but to this day I still associate myself with warlocks from time to time. As much as I love my druid, I crawl back to the dark side every once in a while. I started a gnome warlock (about as far from an undead warlock as you could get) and fiddled around from time to time, relearning the class as I went. It’s been so long since I had played a warlock (thing beginning of the Burning Crusade expansion) that I had much to learn about flinging curses. It’s been a lot of fun reliving what feels like the very beginning of my fun in WoW. I have learned a lot of valuable lessons along the way, such as…

Most lower level tanks cannot keep aggro when you Rain of Fire. Whether it’s because they lack the necessary spells to hold AoE threat, or the skills to use them effectively, they just can’t seem to do it. Sad but true. I should probably hold off on the devastation. Not doing so has gotten my face pounded in on more than one occasion.

Don’t stand in fire. Unless you are creating the fire. Subsequently, you can die from your own Hellfire.

Most things will die too fast in a group setting to allow you to get your full host of DoT spells up. Most things die so fast I can’t even get one DoT up, much less a sluggish shadow bolt or incinerate. Rain of Fire is looking mighty good…

Oops. No, don’t Rain of Fire. Sorry.

Felguard is a nice friend and all, but he likes to chase tail.  I don’t mean pretty succubi. I mean mobs. Half way across an instance we haven’t cleared yet. Best explanation I have for angry groups after the chaos is “sorry…” Damn thing needs to be fixed!

Most people have no idea how to use a soulstone. I don’t know how they missed the memo on this ancient game mechanic…but they did. Nine times out of ten, when I soulstone the healer, they release their spirit anyway. The one time I do not soulstone the healer, I will very likely get called out on it.

The healer isn’t always the best candidate for a soulstone! Shamans can self-resurrect and if they are worth their salt, they will have the reagents to do so. I have soulstoned the tank before at the healer’s request because he was apparently too damned squishy.

Soul Fire is stupid and needs to go away. It takes too long to cast to be worth the shard, especially when even bosses die in a matter of seconds. Or less.

People like to blame the pet. Hunter pet, warlock pet, doesn’t matter. Doesn’t matter if the pet never left my side. That wipe is totally his fault. His idle nosepicking aggro’d the boss and forced the healer to stand in the fire. Damned pet!

There is never, EVER, an appropriate time to fear in an instance. I learned this a very, very long time ago. Fear is a PvP or solo tool ONLY. No one cares if you feared a mob and nothing bad came of it. All they care about is the extremely high possibility that your uncontrollably terrified mob will bring back friends. Do. Not. Fear. 🙂

Don’t expect a healer to heal you through vigorous lifetapping. Many healers at the lower levels simply don’t have the mana pool to keep you topped off and heal the tank through incoming damage. As a courtesy to them, remember you have Drain Life available and it does a pretty decent job. Lifetapping in sync with HoT spells is efficient.

Mana problems seem to stem from casting DoTs that are useless. If the mob is at 10% health and you cast Corruption, you’re doing it wrong. One tick of Corruption does not justify the mana cost. What to do for that last 10% then? Rain of Fire would take them down…

Oh right, sorry. No Rain of Fire 😦

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on August 1, 2010, in Tales and Adventures. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

