A Lot of Random Crap

The end of Wrath is really coming down upon us now. We have about a month left to finish up our Wrath-oriented goals and get our affairs in order for the end of all things we once knew and loved. I’m so stoked for the sundering of the world. I’m really excited to see all of the changes fleshed out and complete. The beta has been fantastic, even if I have only played a wee bit.

I havent met any of me pre-Cataclysm goals. Truth be told, I haven’t played much over the last month plus. The semester is close to an end and between two separate projects (one of which is an experiment) I havent had a lot of free time. What time I do have is spent raiding a few nights a week, which brings me to my next point.

<Dragons Call> of Bloodhoof US (Alliance) is recruiting! In the epic off chance that someone actually reads this blog (and they don’t, haha), we are looking for people of all classes and specs for our final Lich King push. We have lost a ton of people to real life: school, work, relationships, financial issues…everything you can think of. We have been struggling for a while to simply get the numbers to raid on any given night, and we more often than not end up calling the raid before it ever begins. This has been a huge setback for us. Prior to this, we had been making excellent progress through the earlier bosses and had been poking Sindragosa. We would really like to make the final push into the Lich King’s room and become Kingslayers before the end of the expansion. We have the skill; we lack the numbers. So if you’re at all interested, please don’t hesitate to contact me in-game or visit our website to apply: http://dragonscall.guildomatic.com/  We are a small guild with a focus on 10 man content, though it is not unheard of for us to throw together a 25-man raid with friends from other guilds. We do not use DKP or any other system. We are PvE oriented and when we aren’t raiding most of us are running heroics or leveling alts or any number of other casual activities. We only ask that you are mature, respectful, positive and willing to be patient and sensible. We’re willing to help with gear, but if you’re not at least geared for ICC it is unlikely you will ever make it to the Lich King.

Anyway.

I’ve been doing very little with myself lately. I have been slowly leveling an old priest alt that has been abandoned since BC. I used to raid Karazhan on her, believe it or not. She never won any gear, but it was fun. She was shadow then but in the interest of leveling quickly through the dungeon finder I respec’d discipline. It’s more fun than I thought it would be, but shadow has really shaped up over the years. Hard-core shadow priests may disagree, but in my opinion the rotation used to be so boring and dull. It’s not much different now, but the addition of little exploding shadow clones makes me giggle stupidly every time they spawn.

I have been participating in the pre-Cataclysm world events, too. I remember the time just before Wrath came out. I ran around killing zombies and it was a blast. I’m not so thrilled so far this event, but it’s in the early stages and I have no doubt it will kick into high gear soon. I highly recommend everyone participate in the events. It will never happen again, so if you miss out, you miss out forever. Head to Stormwind or Orgrimmar to begin the quest chain. You get to kill elementals and pretend to be a doomsday cultist. The chain also nets you a ton of experience at low levels, so it’s worth at least that much.

You can also get a Feat of Strength for killing elemental rifts all over the world. They spawn in every zone, even in Outland and Northrend, so characters of all levels should be able to participate. You can only gain credit for rifts of your level, however, so if you kill a rift that is much lower level than you, you will gain nothing. A location of all rifts can be found here: http://www.wowwiki.com/Tripping_the_Rifts  You only need to kill one elemental per rift (I think) to gain credit for its demise. No need for kill stealing. Once per day, you can collect an object from a dead rift to turn in. Aside from gold and/or experience, I’m not sure what else this daily awards. Closing one of each elemental rift types (earth, fire, wind and water) will award you a Feat of Strength.

On an un-Cataclysm-related note, Word of Glory (I think that’s what it is) is the most annoying thing as a healer. It goes something like this: Oh, the tank is taking damage! Oh, I’m casting a heal. Oh, suddenly the tank healed themself. Oh, I just wasted mana. Oh, damn. I can see it’s usefulness as an oh shit button: healer died and the tank needs to heal NOW or death is imminent. But in a five-man environment it’s just superfluous and annoying. Then again, I get way pissy when someone steps on my toes as a healer. Like the druid who keeps popping out of kitty to “help” heal? I appreciate the concern and the forward thinking, dude, but I promise you…I got this. The only person taking damage is the tank and the mobs are way under control. No need to play hero.

This post digressed into rambling. I’m gong to work hard once the expansion hits to get back to the druid focus and cover useful topics. My goal is to cover the leveling experience from the perspective of a restoration druid (with a bit of tanking thrown in) as well as gear guides from instances and early raids and strategies for bosses. If you haven’t figured it out already, instances are my major focus so expect to see a lot of posts pertaining to those.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

