Teaching People to Stand in the Bubble-Dome of Awesome

I have been leveling a long-neglected priest lately. Cass used to get some Karazhan time back in the day. She was my third character to ever hit the level cap but once Wrath launched she sat forlornly on the character selection screen, begging me with her wee dwarfness to be played again. Every other character saw their way into Northrend, even coming from so far behind as their 50’s to surpass her. I finally felt bad and decided the least I could do for her was level her to 80 so I could transfer her off the server to make room for my worgen come Cataclysm.

Who, I have decided, will not be a priest.

I love to heal. I usually end up taking over the healing role on any character capable of healing, despite how hard I try not to. I tell myself I will spec to DPS and I get about three levels that way before I am volunteering myself to heal in the healer’s absence…then queuing as a healer…then respeccing…it’s a harsh cycle that preys upon my willingness to be helpful and useful and heal. But Cass was different, at least during BC. She was a shadow priest. I never healed on her. I never did great DPS either, but that’s besides the point.

For some stupid reason though, with the free respec that came with the recent patch, I decided that discipline was a good spec for her. And don’t get me wrong, it is. I enjoy healing and so no healing spec can do me wrong. But it’s kind of boring. Bubble. Renew. Repeat. I get excited when I get to use Greater Heal or Flash Heal or Penance. Most tanks only require a bubble or two to take down trash, and maybe a renew to top them off after. It’s horridly dull. The only real benefit is the lightning fast queue time for dungeons. I always choose DPS and healer…I don’t know why I bother. I’m always cast as a healer.

Since dual-spec now is stupidly cheap (as I feel it should have been from its inception, damnit) I decided to try out my old love for shadowy damage. Sure the queue takes forever when I queue as DPS, but the end result is something a tad more engaging than the worn out old “bubble renew” routine. Now it’s DoT DoT DoT cast a few spells DoT DoT DoT. The only thing about shadow that truly engages me are the presence of my exploding shadow clones. I have far too much fun casting SW:P on everything in sight and then bouncing around while exploding clones do my work for me. No idea if that’s an efficient use of my mana, but oh well. It’s fun.

Still, I remember shadow being so much more fun than its current incarnation. Cast a few DoTs, your choice of one of two spells, refresh DoTs…it is for this reason I have decided leveling another priest from scratch is a bad idea. I want to enjoy my adventures through the new world and it likely isnt to be done as a priest. My goal was to have a level 80 character of all classes on my realm. I guess I will have to broaden that to just one of every class at 80 anywhere.

I am at least enjoying my time in the dungeon finder enough to justify spending all my time there. Most groups power through the content so effortlessly that I literally have nothing to do but pop up a bubble or two. I find myself hanging back behind everyone else so I can DPS a little without being seen.

Leveling another healer did not come without some trepidation. After plowing through countless dungeons with a priest friend leveling, I saw how many people are so keen to blame the healer for every wipe. I have come up with a laundry list of defenses, most of which revolve around pointing out that no healer regardless of skill or gear can save a tank when they die in .5 seconds. Reasons for this include pulling an entire room, standing with your back to the entire room, etc. I can heal a lot of things, but folks, I cannot heal stupid.

And, just like I struggled for a while to get people to stand in the green druid puddle, I am struggling now to get people to stand under my golden awesome dome of awesome. I don’t use it often, but when I do it is very disheartening to see the tank quickly maneuver the mobs out from beneath it. No no! It’s a good bubble, I promise! I feel like I need a macro:

/cast Awesome Bubble Thing
/s Anyone standing outside this bubble will not be healed!

And watch people finally understand the concept. It’s like when I soulstone people on my warlock, and watch them release their corpse after a wipe and run all the way back. I feel the need for a really obnoxious macro to school them:

/cast Soulstone on Stupid Person
/w Hey, I just cast a Soulstone on you! Grats. This means that if you die, you can resurrect yourself in order to resurrect the party after a wipe. It has a 15 minute cooldown on my end, so if you waste this opportunity to be awesome, I will let the mobs that respawned behind us take care of your dumb, unobservant ass and put the soulstone on someone less idiotic. 🙂

So maybe that’s a bit more vindictive than is necessary. It still accurately reflects my frustrations on the matter.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on November 14, 2010, in Chatter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

