2011 in Review

2011 was a great year. Not just in WoW, but for me personally. I hit a lot of milestones in life that I was really looking forward to. I celebrated one year in my new apartment, four years with my fiance, and I can finally see the light at the end of the education tunnel. I know it sounds trite, but I wanted to take a look back at what I have accomplished and also a peek forward at what I am looking forward to.

Looking back…

Accomplishments: In 2011 I pretty much maxed out my game as far as I could. I gobbled up achievements like no tomorrow and amassed a fairly impressive collection of pets, mounts, and titles.

In brief, I got 100 mounts, 150 pets, the 45 exalted reputations, 9,000 achievement points, nabbed the red volcanic drake, and the Amani Battle bear.

But beyond the numbers, I also got to experience a lot. Raiding with my guild even if we didn’t hit end game content the way we wanted to. I quested with my functionally retarded ret paladin buddy, and we devoured everything the game could offer us. I helped my guild achieve level 25. I made the switch from healing to tanking and I loved it. I got over myself and queued for dungeons solo.

I leveled all of my alts to 85, except the one I might delete if server caps arent raised in the next expansion. I finally leveled a Horde character to max level.

I dragged myself back into PvP, gathered up a set of gear, and learned to love(?) the sport all over again.

Regrets: I would have loved to have seen the raid content as it was relevant. I would also love to have been one of the guilds pushing for Deathwing’s demise. But a new year and a new expansion mean new opportunities so long as we keep trying.

A lot of people I enjoyed playing with quit the game. All theories as to why aside, it’s a little disheartening.

Looking Forward…

I am completely stoked about the upcoming expansion. If Blizzard does what I think they’re trying to do, it’s going to be more fun than Cataclysm (perhaps not saying much…). I would love to see the focus of the game shift to a more “fun” oriented ideal and bring the center of the game back down away from gear scores and raid bosses. I love the little things, like pet collecting and digging in the dirt, and I’m most excited about the future of some of my favorite time wasters.

I’m so terribly impatient about news regarding the pet battle feature it isn’t even funny. I want it NOW. Pandaren are cool and stuff, but the pet battle system has me hooked and I haven’t even touched it yet. If it goes the way of Path of the Titans I will cry.

I’m excited (perhaps also nervous?) about going in to a new expansion as a tank, which is well beyond my comfort zone and yet somehow very appealing.

So happy new year to you all, and I hope you had as much fun and as much to look forward to as I do.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

