The Very Best Pet Collecting Server Ever

I have a little “secret” to share with all you lovely pet collectors. There exists a server that is untainted by the foul stench of CRZ. It is a haven, a paradise, a mecca if you will. Where the lands flow with pets and competition is scarce. Where you can frolic and play and collect to your heart’s content. Where even rare pets are plentiful.

That server is Ravenholdt (US).

I first heard about Ravenholdt on the Warcraft Pets forums. I thought to myself, “Self, you need to bite the bullet and roll a death knight on Ravenholdt, because rare pets are extinct on Bloodhoof!” And so I did. As I was busy bruising my fat tauren backside through the initial quest line in the death knight starter zone, I reminisced on my luck pet collecting on Bloodhoof.

I’ve done fairly well for myself, all told. My usual policy is to catch first, hunt rares later. I catch the first pet I find just to be certain I have it in my collection. Later I will go back and hunt for specific rares. So I have a lot of individual pets in my collection that might be considered uncommon or hard to find, but they’re of a low quality. And I like rares. The problem is that, since Bloodhoof has a large population and is part of CRZ, I am at a severe disadvantage when it comes to camping select hard to find pets. Minfernals? Forget it. At least 10 people swooping around during the day, more at peak hours. Spawn of Onyxia? Only seen one or two. Giraffe Calf? I wasn’t even sure it existed. Scourged Whelpling? I’ve never seen one before. The issue wasn’t my dedication. I devote a huge amount of my play time towards pet battles and collecting. It was the combined forces of nasty CRZ and a naturally high population server that kept me from obtaining some of the pets I want most. I got a minfernal months ago much to my surprise and delight, but that had nothing to do with tedious camping. It was sheer luck. A fluke.

When my little tauren death knight was all ready to head out into the world on his own, I immediately took a flight from Orgrimmar to the Southern Barrens. Armed with my trusty level 19 Terrible Turnip, I set off across the plains. My hopes were high that I would be able to find a giraffe calf this time, and oh man. Was I not disappointed. The first pet to pop up on my radar was a calf. It was poor and I didn’t care at all. I had a giraffe calf! But five seconds later I found another…and then another…and by the time I had run once around the zone, I had an uncommon quality calf in my possession. That was good enough for me. I’ll come back and hunt for a rare later, but my curiosity was killing me. What about the rest of the pets I had been hunting fruitlessly for months of Bloodhoof?

I hopped a flight into Dustwallow and galloped towards Onyxia’s lair. On my home server the place is usually devoid of battle pets. As soon as I got close my screen began to bloom with little green paws. Spawns everywhere! It took but four battles to nab a rare. I gleefully deleted by old poor quality spawn and raced off to catch a flight to Tanaris. Infinite whelplings next!

On Bloodhoof the Caverns of Time usually spit up one or two whelps every time I visit, but the area is heavily camped and I have never caught a rare. The first thing I noticed upon landing was that Tanaris was in the throes of a sandstorm, and the first pet to appear on my minimap was the elusive Silithid Hatchling. What an amazing stroke of luck! Thankfully, I already had a rare hatchling in my possession so I left it for some other worthy pet battler to find. I raced off to the Caverns of Time. It was loaded with whelps. They appeared beneath my feet (hooves?) with a greyed out paw on the map indicating that the Caverns themselves beneath me were chalk full of little whelps. And the ruined area outside by the summoning stone was packed. I battled one and another respawned only a few feet away. Two minutes later, I had a rare. Oh this server rocks!

What else could I add to my collection? I was feeling rejuvenated. Pet collecting had gotten stale for me, circling endlessly around waiting for pets that never spawned. But this was fun! I remembered trying to find a Stunted Yeti in Feralas and the irritation over the number of people in the area doing the same thing. So I boarded a wyvern and sailed off into the blue. I landed in Feralas and rode to the yeti caves and sure enough, they were crawling with wee little yetis. There was no one in sight. I pranced happily through the yetis, knee deep in battle pets, and before I had cleared even half of them I had a rare. By the time I headed back out of the cave, more had spawned outside, and my minimap was a sea of happy green paws.

Ecstatic, I flew back to Orgrimmar and hopped a zeppelin to the Undercity. Where should I go next? The possibilities were endless. I remembered my grueling ordeal trying to find a rare Tiny Twister in Arathi, and flew there next. I landed and ran towards the Circle of Outer Binding. On Bloodhoof and my alt server Madoran, I had spend countless hours trying to coax the little farts to spawn. I did everything I could to force them out of hiding. I battled quite a few of them, but never found a rare. It was frustrating as hell to compete with other folks, especially when I was the one doing the work killing other battle pets in the zone trying to force the Twisters to spawn. When I arrived on Ravenholdt, the zone was empty, and I could not actually see the Circle of Outer Binding on my minimap through the swarm of little green paws. Twisters everywhere! And two battles later, I caught my rare. On to the next!

From here I decided my next destination would be the Wetlands. Here is another place I have spent so many hours flying in circles, moonfiring little critters, and praying to eldritch gods for a Tiny Bog Beast. I’ve seen a few of them before, of course, and caught one for myself. They’re not that rare. But I could never find more than one or two at a time, and even then I had to dodge other pet collectors. Would Ravenholdt be different or had my lucky streak finally come to an end? No, as it turns out, I was still on fire. The area around the Green Belt was crawling with tiny little bog beasties. I didn’t find a rare my first time through, but they began to respawn fairly quickly, and I resolved to come back later after I had poked around southward for a Fluxfire Feline.

On arrival in the toxic airfield in Dun Morogh I found a smattering of felines waiting for me. Two battles later, I had the rare that had eluded me for so long. I then promptly died to a level ?? guard, but that’s fine. I got what I came for. I rode back to the Wetlands. The tiny bog beasts were nowhere to be seen. Oh well. Can’t win them all. So I rode back to Hammerfall and caught a wyvern to Hillsbrad. I had forgotten to check for the Lofty Librams while I was up there. Dalaran Crater was packed with the little flappy books and after a complete circuit around I finally found my rare.

So ends my tale of joy. I caught one elusive pet I had never seen before and upgraded 6 pets I had been having a hard time finding on my home server. It only took me a couple of hours from creation of my new death knight to the end of my journey. I have to say it was incredibly fun to actually be able to catch pets, rather than just circle around for hours waiting on spawns.

I wholeheartedly feel that some pets should be exceptionally difficult to find and capture. But I don’t like the way CRZ impacts pet collecting. It feels artificial. I’m not a CRZ fan by any means, and this just kind of furthers that distaste.

So if you’ve been beaten down by your server’s lack of pets, consider rolling a death knight alt on Ravenholdt and doing what I did. It’s an RP-PVP realm but if you’re worried about being ganked, take heart. I didn’t see more than two people the entire time I rode around Kalimdor and Eastern Kingdoms, and neither of them paid me any attention.

My next goal is to level up a bit and make enough gold to purchase flying, so that I can finally get myself a scourged whelpling.

TL;DR version: Ravenholdt US is an RP-PVP server that is exempt from CRZ. This means those hard to find pets you’ve been scouring the globe for are readily available and pet collecting is easier than ever. I proved this by catching a giraffe calf first time out and upgrading a lot of elusive pets to rare. I highly recommend rolling a death knight alt and suffering through Arthas’ questlines so that you can get out there and get pet collecting.

 

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Chatter, Pet Battles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

