The Wonderful World of Whelplings

My search for the Scourged Whelpling had stalled a few days ago mostly due to my unwillingness to actually level the death knight I created to hunt for the elusive beast. Thankfully I have a wonderful friend and guild leader who offered to hop on a level 90 horde alt and use a passenger mount to fly me up to Icecrown. Hooray!

I wasn’t sure if it would work, as Ravenholdt is not CRZ enabled. But it did work (I was transferred to his server) and off we went. Apparently Blizzard never got around to fixing that little bug where you get dismounted when flying between zones, because I promptly plummeted to my death in Sholazar. It’s okay thought, a helpful tree caught me. This seems like something that should not have been allowed to make it to live servers, but I’m past the point of being surprised by Blizzard’s apparent laziness anymore.

After scraping my cow hide off the tree, we flew on to Icecrown. As soon as I left the group I died again. Thankfully there is a graveyard not ten feet from Sindragosa’s Fall. There were no whelps immediately available and after running around a bit and dying a lot and ruining my gear, I logged off for the night. It wasn’t so much a matter of “will there be whelps?”. It was more “will they be some place I can actually reach them?” I can’t go traipsing off through a bunch of level 85-ish mobs at level 58, so I had to wait for a whelp to spawn in a convenient location.

I logged in this morning and lo and behold, the elusive creature was there before me. He was right on the edge where the mobs stop and that long empty stretch of Syndragosa’s Fall meets the tournament grounds. I had to inch my way in carefully to avoid a roaming vrykul and some others, but I got him. My biggest fear wasn’t accidentally killing him. It was being hit by another player, since this is a PvP server. But no one bothered me as I quickly caught myself arguably one of the rarest pets in the game.

I had wisely stashed away an undead battle stone months ago for just this occasion, and now I am the proud owner of my very own rare Scourged Whelpling. Thanks Adra 🙂

WoWScrnShot_022013_121428

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on February 20, 2013, in Chatter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay Whelpies!

Leave a Reply

