BlizzCon

I have been buying myself a virtual BlizzCon ticket every year for a few years now. It’s so much fun! I can’t watch in real time, so I come home and watch the panels after work, but that’s fine. It’s still a great experience to plop on the couch with food and flip through the panels at my leisure.

No joke, the big reason I order the tickets is for the little in-game pet. Some day I would love to attend the con in person – I live in California, and not horribly far from the convention center. I think it’s about a 5 hour drive. It’s just cost prohibitive to rent a hotel and pay for the tickets. Some day, though. It’s a goal.

But with Legion launching before BlizzCon this year, I’m not sure what WoW news will be revealed. A BlizzCon without WoW news leaves me…almost nothing to watch.

I love Diablo but I haven’t played in years. I don’t even own the expansion. I liked Hearthstone well enough but I stopped playing after I got the WoW mount. I’m just no good at it. And I have a blast playing Heroes, but…again, it’s one of those things I don’t put a lot of time into. WoW is my main squeeze – what’s going to draw my attention at BlizzCon if the major WoW event of the year has already passed?

So do I plunk down $40 on a virtual ticket for the pet, knowing that the panels this year will be less than interesting to me, or do I skip it and feel left out and petless?

What if they DO announce something WoW-related and amazing? What if they drop a big WoW-sized bomb on us? With the new Legion expansion and the (kind of) successful WoW movie that recently released, they’d be nuts not to have something WoW-related lined up to reveal at the con.

I’m hoping for something cool, like patch info or some big reveal we haven’t sniffed out yet from datamining. But I’m not super hopeful. What is going to be the draw this year? The movie is already out, Legion will already be out…how will they get our attention?

I’m still debating buying the ticket and finding out for myself.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.

Posted on July 25, 2016, in Chatter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

